New CPAW Communities Announced

November, 2017. Community Planning Assistance for Wildfire is pleased to announce the selection of eight communities for participation in the program in 2018. The communities are:

  • Deadwood, South Dakota
  • Los Alamos, New Mexico
  • Mammoth Lakes, California
  • Ocean Township, New Jersey
  • Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
  • San Luis Valley, Colorado
  • Sisters, Oregon
  • Wasco County, Oregon

Joining 18 communities already participating in the CPAW program, the eight cities and counties selected for 2018 will receive customized assistance over the course of one year. Assistance includes land use planning support and recommendations, training and capacity building, risk assessments, and/or specialized research and science.

CPAW assistance is voluntary and provided at the request of the local government. Local jurisdictions retain sole authority for implementation of any land use planning recommendations provided through CPAW. CPAW services come at no cost to the community.